Reflections About Family and Career (Taken out of last blog and expanded it)

My father’s side of the family is mechanically inclined. One thought crossed my mind on the trip. My grandfather was a cranberry bog grower and he had his own helicopter spraying business too. As a child, I was on a helicopter with him many times. My grandmother was one of the first female pilots in New England. We have old movies of her flying. Yesterday, I realized something while flying. She never flew me anywhere. A regret of mine now. At some point, she gave up her license. She was very much involved in women’s rights in her life. My sister and I were to go to college (period the end.)

Sometimes, I think it’s some of the feelings of jealously with my brother. He had fun in high school and graduated with a D. Later, he told me that he wish he had went to college, but then he had kids. He does have his own business. My sister was the academic star of the family. I see that quality in my daughter. We never expect her to be “perfect.” She expects herself to be perfect. My sister graduated during the recession of the 90’s with a major in biology and a minor in psychology. She came home from college to no jobs and ended up working anywhere to make a living. She won third place in our state’s science fair in high school. I hear she is going back to school to become a paralegal. When I decided to major in Sociology and Psychology, she gave me her books. I am not big into science. I could barely read them. She studied a very biology based form of psychology. I also do have a learning disability, I ended up working in substance abuse and with kids. It’s also the reason, I am stand offish about taking the test to go work at the schools. Learning disabilities were just getting recognized by people, when I was a child. Some people misunderstood what that meant. It took me years to reverse the damage.

I did get time to study some for that test that I am meaning to take. My daughter was badly bullied at the city school. When I helped her, I got interested in working at the schools. English is not my best subject. I struggled a lot as a child. So test taking isn’t a strong point. When I started studying, I realized how this isn’t going to be as hard I realized. The struggle is the balance between fertility treatment and career goals. My love my job, but if we have two children. I want to provide for them. I do love what I do very much.

Leave a comment